THE BOOK WHICH LIVES UP TO ITS GENRE, REVIEW OF ‘DEAD TO THEM’ WRITTEN BY SMITA BHATTACHARYA


Book Title: Dead To Them

Author: Smita Bhattacharya

Total Number of Pages: 1 Jan 2018

Publisher: Storymirror Info Pvt. Ltd

Publication Date

Format: Paperback

Language: English

Genre: Fiction/Psychological Thriller

Link To Book : Amazon

REVIEWED BY SOHINEE DEY

Thrillers are my favorite. When it comes to choosing my favorite genre, I always stick with thrillers and if it’s a psychological thriller, that’s even better. I had read this book titled ‘Dead To them’ a few weeks ago but I have been so busy procrastinating that I almost forgot to write the review. After the reader’s block, I have lost some inspiration and getting up and reading books everyday. You might have noticed by now that I have become irregular in posting reviews.


Read My Previous Review of ‘Rafina’ Written By Shandana Minhas


‘Dead To Them’ by Smita Bhattacharya is a psychological thriller with a female lead protagonist, Moira Madhwa. Moira, a working professional at a reputed company suddenly goes missing out of the blue. Think of it as someone who works at your office is absent for a very long time. Someone you had spoken to even yesterday and the next day she can’t be found anywhere. No messages, no calls nor any application of her absence. This situation would be really weird, isn’t it? It would make you doubt that there’s something more to it than what meets the eye.

It is really hard to discuss about the story because the plotline along with its sub-plots are so closely knit together that if I reveal anything, it would be a spoiler! To keep my review spoiler free, I am just going to talk about a few surface elements.

Since she was working for the company, she had good relation with some of her colleagues and others were just jealous of how hard of a worker she was. Some of the important characters who actually contribute to the plotline are Kartik, Kavya and Himanshu, Moira’s boss.

Other than her office colleagues, Moira’s friends were also mentioned. Piyush and his pregnant wife, Misha; and Avni were some of her friends.

All her friends along with her colleagues were being suspected behind her gone missing. Misha is shown to be a delusional character who always doubts her husband Piyush. Avni is head over heels in love with Ashish and Misha is often times shown to be a little envious of how happy she is in her relationship. Misha is the character which every reader (I guess) would hold as guilty but as I have mentioned already, nothing about the book is what it seems to be. All the characters are shown to be prime suspects because all of them are hiding some secrets of their own. Moira herself had secrets of her own to hide.

Smita Bhattacharya has wrapped up everything perfectly. Right from the beginning, the plotline has a sense of mystery, there are characters whose actions can be doubted on, there are situations which would rise suspicion. All in all, Smita did a brilliant job in keeping the thrilling factor alive throughout the story.

The sub-plots are weaved really well. They form a connection to the main plotline and also has the ability to confuse readers where we can end up doubting the wrong person. There are several twists and turns that makes the story even more interesting. Just when I thought that I have figured it out, Smita would throw in another twist. Reading this book was similar to that of being on a rollercoaster ride.

The language is simple and easy but not at all amateurish. The narration has a smooth flow and the chapters had a clean ending too. The suspense builds up almost till the end and then everything is revealed. The good thing about the revelation was that it didn’t feel as if it rushed out after being held for so long nor did it feel hastened. It was done in a slow and steady manner.

There were a few grammatical errors here and there but nothing that can’t be fixed with a quick round of editing. In the beginning, Moira’s friends and colleagues are seen to be pretty much nonchalant about her gone missing so that was something which I found to be a bit unreal because if I by any chance go missing, my friends, colleagues and my family members are going to be really concerned about the matter and not sit back and wait for me to come back (I am sure?). Also, I felt that the cover could have been a bit better; something related to the plot or the characters. Other than this I really loved the book and the way Smita executed the story.

FINAL THOUGHTS

‘Dead To Them’ by Smita Bhattacharya lives up to its genre as a psychological thriller and didn’t disappoint me.

Recommended to readers who love thrillers and doesn’t get upset when the story turns gory.

POESY IN CHRYSALIS RATING: ⭐/

il_570xN.700103422_a1p7

WANT TO GET YOUR BOOK REVIEWED?

*I am currently open to review requests for the month of July. If you want to request a review, better do it soon!*

(Head over to the Review Policy page for more information. Don’t forget to check it out if you are thinking of requesting a review.)

Just send an e-mail to query.sohinee@gmail.com regarding your review query or just e-mail me for a chat! Once I receive your e-mail, I’ll get back to you and discuss all the details. I’m only an e-mail away!! You can also leave a message on my facebook page now!

WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT ME?

I have listed down all my social media links in the Contact Page. I am known to be a friendly person, I don’t bite! Come, let’s talk 💜💙

FOLLOW ME ON:

WORDPRESS| TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | GOOGLE+ | LINKEDIN |

tenor

3 thoughts on “THE BOOK WHICH LIVES UP TO ITS GENRE, REVIEW OF ‘DEAD TO THEM’ WRITTEN BY SMITA BHATTACHARYA

  1. Thank you for the review Sohinee

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Discover more from Sohinee Reads & Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close