A SPY THRILLER TO ADD TO YOUR TBR! REVIEW OF ABHINAV SINGH’S ‘THE LAST ATTRACTOR OF CHAOS’


The Last Attractor of Chaos book review by Sohinee Dey

Book Title: The Last Attractor of Chaos

Author: Abhinav Singh

Total Number of Pages: 332

Publisher: Notion Press

Publication Date: April 2018

Format: Paperback

Language: English

Genre: Fiction/Mystery/Thriller

Reviewed by Sohinee Dey

I love reading mystery/thriller books and it feels like I am reading a lot of these books lately. But I still don’t get tired of them!

I was supposed to read the book back in June and also post the review by that time (but hello lazy and busy me!). Anyways, now that I have read the book, I can say that it was a really good book and I enjoyed my time reading it.

‘The Last Attractor of Chaos’ is a very well-written thriller that holds on to the thrilling effect till the last page. The two main characters in the book are Shruti Rathore and her husband Ashwin Rathore. There are many thrillers and murder mysteries written by Indian authors these days but spy thrillers are limited in number. If I come to think about it, I have only read one such before Abhinav Singh’s ‘The Last Attractor of Chaos’ and I wasn’t really happy about that book.

View this post on Instagram

I grew up by one more year! 🍰🎉 . Yesterday was my birthday and I was so overwhelmed by the amount of birthday messages that I received on my social media accounts! Over 500 messages flooded my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram inbox 😵. . Thank you soooooo much for making my day extra special 😭😘🤗💜. I love you all so much 😢💜💜💜💜💜 . There was no cake or any kind of grand celebration, but yes, this birthday was really special for me. . I have decided to skip on asking a question for today. But, why don't you Munchkins ask me something? Sounds good? Post your questions below in the comment section and I'll answer them. 👇👇👇❔❓😄 . Thankfully I was able to complete 'The Last Attractor of Chaos' before I hit the reading slump and it's not a good feeling to be in a slump 😑. And here, you people are reading so many books, participating in readathons and what not! I envy you all so much right now!! 😭😭 . Speaking of the book, 'The Last Attractor of Chaos' is a science thriller. Given that I don't enjoy reading anything that has science written over it, I really liked the book. I liked the author's approach towards the plot and the way the plot was constructed. I could see that it wasn't some half-baked idea. I'll be posting the review on my blog soon 🔝🔝🔝. Until then, you can check out the blurb below 👇 BLURB Trying to protect his pregnant wife, scientist Ashwin Rathore gets killed – unexpectedly and unwantedly. A deadly force lurks in the murk that wants her too, but why? Is it because she works for and with the military and Intelligence teams in the country, or is it because she knows something that no one else does? . Thanks to the author for the review copy. . . . . . #birthdaygirl #birthdaymemories #birthdaymessages #julybaby #bookphotography #bookstagramindiafeature #bookstagrammers #indianbloggers #kolkatabloggers #unitedbookstagram #kolkatabookstagrammers #igreaders #blogger_de #lifeisbeatiful #instagood #bookblog #bookblogger #readerslife #bookish #writingforthesoul #bookrecommendations #amreading #igbooks #reading #bookish #bookworm #readingbooks

A post shared by Sohinee (she/her)| Bookstagram (@bookarlo) on

The story starts off by Ashwin getting murdered (yeah there’s a murder right after you enter the book) but he was just a victim of the situation because the killing was planned for his wife. The plot then shifts off to Ashwin waking up in an unknown place and what seems to be a place not on earth. This is where the afterlife phase comes in. No, the story doesn’t move towards spiritual awakening or something like that, instead there’s a fantasy element to the book. In his afterlife, Ashwin comes across Tantunam Anuha (I first read it as Hakuna Matata :p). Tantunam helps him to keep an eye on his pregnant wife Shruti, to see how she is doing all alone out there. But, Ashwin is surprised when he comes across many facts that shows Shruti was hiding many secrets from her past life which he wasn’t aware of while he was married to her.

In Ashwin’s absence in the main plotline, Shruti takes the spotlight and her character comes off as a strong and powerful woman. I loved the portrayal of her character. Being pregnant and still managing to work in the military and intelligence force where there are far too many dangers, she made it through with her courage.

I really liked the writing style of the author. The plot isn’t that weaved and complicated but the writing style gave that edge to the plot which would have been otherwise pretty bland and unexciting. The story does shift from past to present but Abhinav Singh has dealt with the timelines well. It didn’t get distracting nor were the shifts too frequent.

If I talk about the narration, I would say that overall it was good but at some places it lacked the flow that the author had initially set. So, sometimes it was slow and other times it was fast. I noticed that when Shruti’s past came into the plot, the flow in the narration was wavering. But other than that, the narration worked well for me.
The ending of the book was great. I have seen that in cases of thrillers and mysteries, everything would be fine with the book then when it’s time for the climax, woof! It’s gone in a minute. But Singh made sure that the ending wasn’t rushed. Thumbs up for that!

What I think could have been better is the overall look and presentation of the book and by that I mean the cover and the blurb. The cover doesn’t do justice to the content of the book because I didn’t find it relatable to the characters to the plot in any way. So, maybe a cover which actually reflects part of the story would be good. For the blurb, I would say that it needs some more information to it. It just feels incomplete. Another thing which I think could have been better were the dialogues (not all but some specific ones). There were some dialogues which didn’t really go well with the scene and the characters. It’s like you won’t expect them to say something like that in certain situations. That’s something which I felt was almost overlooked.

Poesy In Chrysalis

‘The Last Attractor of Chaos’ is a thriller which is bound to keep the readers hooked till the end of the book.

If you are someone who enjoys thrillers, this book should be on your tbr!

The Skylarks' War Review

Have You Read Any Spy Thrillers? Also Let Me Know How You Liked My Review. Don’t Forget To Like, Comment and Follow My Blog To Stay Updated With All The Latest Bookish Content!

WANT TO GET YOUR BOOK REVIEWED?

*I am currently open to review requests for the month of August.

For more details, head over to my Review Policy page.

WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT ME?

I have listed down all my social media links in the Contact Page. I am known to be a friendly person, I don’t bite! Come, let’s talk 💜💙

CONNECT WITH ME ON:

WORDPRESS| TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | GOOGLE+ | LINKEDIN |

Sohinee Dey aka Bookarlo

10 thoughts on “A SPY THRILLER TO ADD TO YOUR TBR! REVIEW OF ABHINAV SINGH’S ‘THE LAST ATTRACTOR OF CHAOS’

  1. Nice review Sohinee. I’ll check this book out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ana 💜💜. If you come across spy thrillers, let me know! I would love to read more of these books.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sure Sohinee. 💕

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Prathiyankara Priya Aug 19, 2018 — 5:18 am

    Nice review dear… Sure I ‘ll check out this book

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Hope you like reading it! 💜💜

      Like

  3. Lovely review Sohinee.. I don’t think I’ve read any Indian spy thrillers either, so this seems sooo interesting… definitely gonna keep this in mind 😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sahi! 😊💜. The Last Attractor of Chaos was actually a good read when it comes to Indian Spy Thrillers. Hope you enjoy reading it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Spy thrillers are my favorites when I need some excitement… will definitely try this one and hope I like it too 😊😊😊

        Like

  4. I love mysteries and thrillers. This book sounds so good

    Like

Leave a comment

Discover more from Sohinee Reads & Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close