EK BRAND BY EKTA KAPOOR: I Tried 3 EK Brand Products and Here’s What I Thought


Heya, munchkins! 🙋‍♀️

How have you all been doing? Hope ya’ll are doing great and getting to spend time doing what you love. The pandemic is still here (is it ever going to end? 😭), so make sure you are keeping safe and following all the safety measures!

Anyways, enough of that. Let’s get down to business. Today’s post is a little different and I think I have bored you guys enough with bookish posts! 😂 You all DESERVE better than this and today, you’re finally getting it! 😉 If you remember, I mentioned a few months ago that I am planning to expand my blog and write posts of other categories. And, guess what? IT’S FINALLY HAPPENING!!

Before moving on with the post,

Here’s a short DISCLAIMER:

All the products mentioned in this post are received in exchange for an honest opinion. It doesn’t affect my views in any way.

________________________________________________________

I am so happy to be working on this collaboration with EK by Ekta, a newly launched brand by Ekta Kapoor. If you’re Indian or have grown up in an Indian family, you would be familiar with daily soaps like Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi, Pavitra Rishta, Yeh Hain Mohabbatein, Kahani Ghar Ghar Ki, Jodha Akbar (I am pretty sure at one point, everyone simped over Rajat Tokas 😂), Bade Achhe Lagte Hain which were all produced by Ekta Kapoor. Remember how our parents would be glued to the television from 8 pm to 11 pm every weekday? Yeah, kind of nostalgic now that I think of it.

Ekta Kapoor has come up with her new brand EK by Ekta which promises to nurture the Indian handicrafts tradition and provides a range of premium and Indo-contemporary items including home decor, ethnic wear, copperware, and much more inspired by the works of local artisans. All the products are made with the aim of celebrating Indian roots, uses authentic materials with a focus on the overall wellness of the consumers, and are handcrafted by Indian artisans.

I had the opportunity to try out a few items from the brand. While two of the products are still on the way, I did try out their Dark Blue Printed Cotton Kurta from the Ethnic Wear Siyahi Collection and in this post, I’ll be sharing my experience.

Here’s what the product highlight says:

I ordered a Size M but since I am pretty short (yeah, your girl is pretty short, like 4’10 short 😌) than the model, the length of the Kurta came down below my knee and yeah, I have to sort of get it altered for the perfect length. I usually have to order size S but following their size chart, I went with M and true to the size chart, the Kurta fit me well, except for being slightly loose around the waist, which honestly I don’t mind. I mean, who am I kidding, baggy clothes for life 🙌

Speaking of the colour and the print, it’s exactly as shown in the picture. Although I haven’t worn it outside yet, so, it depends on how long the colour lasts and how it holds up against the scorching summer heat of Kolkata. But yes, I have washed it before wearing (pandemic guys, wash/sanitize your stuff before using) and there was no colour bleeding as opposed to the disclaimer.

The material is pure cotton and is pretty lightweight, which is something that I look for when it comes to ethnic wear. So, 10/10 on that part!

So, it all comes down to Would I recommend EK by Ekta?

It all boils down to your requirements and purchase decisions. Are you looking for Home Decor, Copperware products, Home Linen, and Dining items? Then yes, you can pick something from this brand. I personally recommend the home décor and dining products since they have a limited but good collection. I feel that sometimes when we are presented with too many choices, it becomes difficult to pick one. So, their minimal collection helped me take a quick decision on what I wanted to purchase. The two more products that are still on the way are from these categories and I’ll be posting about them separately. So, keep an eye out! 😄

If I speak of affordability, I would have to say not everyone would find all their products affordable. But given their claim of premium products, it defines their price range. They have a price range from under Rs 500 to Rs. 2399. So, I believe it’s possible to get good quality items under Rs. 500 like dining and wellness items and some products like their jewelry and décor collection in the premium range which are mostly above Rs. 1500. So, some items are extremely affordable while some caters to those who are looking for premium items.

Speaking of the ethnic wear collection, if you really want to try out something, I would recommend going for the Kurtas which are above Rs. 1000. Since, I am not really into ethnic wear, I ordered a piece below Rs. 1000 just to try it out. But for the price, the quality, the fit, and the material was satisfactory.

I did want to try out a product from their Copperware range but unfortunately, all the items that I loved were out of stock. One thing to remember, their items do get sold out rather quickly, especially on weekends (this is something that I personally experienced that delayed my purchase). So, you have to be quick. Don’t leave your items in the cart for too long or else they will be sold out!

FINAL THOUGHTS

  • Home decor items are a 100% must try
  • Dining products are a must try
  • Copperware is a 100% must try (especially their Jugs)
  • Home Linen is worth a shot
  • Women’s Apparel depends on your budget and can be tried

Overall, I liked this piece from their Siyahi Collection and it was worth the price but I am yet to put it to the test and see how it fares! (test being washing frequently and of course the sun)

This Kurta is really simple and can be used for daily wear. One thing that stands out are the sleeves. I really loved the sleeves! You can definitely pair it with leggings, palazzos or even Jeans (if you’re feeling a little risky hehe)

P.S: This is the model, not me (wish I was that tall 😢). I will be posting the pictures once I am done with the editing and stuff. So, wait for them!

From the Spiritual Jewelry Collection, Ekta Kapoor’s Evil Eye Pendant is quite popular and has been spotted being worn by Munawar Faruqui – the Stand-up Comedian we all know, Karan Kundrra-the Indian actor, Prince Narula, and other celebs in the industry. There are different variations in the design and material but since I am not big into jewelry, I skipped it. But it is a good piece if you want to try it out.

And, guess what I did? I had a new book, a clothing piece and two of my constant props lying around so, I had to put all of them in one frame. Like, how could I not? 😉

Note: I’ll update this post with the reviews of other two products once they arrive and repost the entire blog post. So, don’t worry you won’t be missing out! There will be pictures involved too!

When purchasing Home Decor items, what are the top 3 things that help you decide? Have you ever tried any Copperware products before? Let me know in the comments down below! 👇

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram as I’ll be posting some pretty aesthetic pictures soon! If you still haven’t followed me, here’s what my feed looks like 😊

Sohinee Reads & Reviews Logo

WORDPRESS | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM |GOODREADS | PINTEREST | LINKEDIN

Signing off,

Sohinee Reads and Reviews

1 thought on “EK BRAND BY EKTA KAPOOR: I Tried 3 EK Brand Products and Here’s What I Thought

Leave a comment

Discover more from Sohinee Reads & Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close